Election Day Scandal

My husband Paul suggested that we should get a proofreader

"Why?" said I.

oops (did you spot it too?)

During the local election day yesterday, I had a funny incident. Whilst using a spatula to push leaflets through letterboxes - after I’d cut my finger on a super-sprung metal one - the spatula got stuck. I had to ring the doorbell and inform the owner, who luckily found the situation as amusing as I did.

Participating in local politics has not only had a significant impact on my marriage (ha), but the physical demands of walking, distributing leaflets, and canvassing have left me with sore feet, back, and hips. Nonetheless, it has been a fascinating and enlightening experience. There are bigger conversations to be had than potholes, although I am struggling with them while riding my bike.

I am on my way to take part in the vote-counting process today to find out how Team Burpham fared. Paul will be popping by to keep a watchful eye on the Potters!

✒️5 Sentences from You 

A Bit Random

One of the houses I grew up in is up for sale, and the listing included this bit...

"In the early twentieth century, the property was home to the Llewelyn Davies family, whose children inspired J.B. Barrie to write Peter Pan. Later, it was occupied by the portrait artist Harold Speed, who built the large south-facing studio."

My dad bought the house to get the paintings....and made enough to keep the house.

Still not sure who the old lady who lived in the flat above my room was....maybe one of the Llewelyn Davies, who lived next door when we were there.

I'll have to have a peek with my brother.

Ian Moncrieff MacMillan

The Value of Self Learning

Colin Horner

📰Good News Friday

A space to share GOOD news.

For example,

⚡️In a positive step for conservation efforts, the population of humpback whales in the South Atlantic has rebounded from near extinction to nearly 25,000 individuals, according to a new report by the International Whaling Commission.

⚡️Exciting news from the “Guildford Swift ProjectHERE

⚡️Rewilding your garden: how to create a thriving ecosystem in your backyard HERE

📣Random Dialogues Live Events

What’s a topic, issue, or subject that you’re passionate about and want to share?

Random Dialogues Live #24 will be on Thursday, May 11th from 8 pm to 9 pm. 6 speakers, up to 6 minutes each.

Speakers:

  • Dr Nick Heap  - "Ego to Eco: A Joyous and Uplifting Journey"

  • Daksha Foat - "Five Ways to Thrive”

  • Wyndham James - “The 6 Essential Elements For A Fulfilling Life”

  • Peter Smith - “The Ashley-Pitt Guide to Pollinator Friendly Planting”

  • Jen Gale - “Feminism”

  • Me - “The Magic of Random Dialogues: How Casual Conversations Can Spark Creativity”

Until next Friday at 6:08 am 

If You Made it This Far🎬

I look forward to reading your comments below or via email, hearing your good news and maybe even receiving your 5 sentences for next week’s update.

Thank you.

Oh and this just came in

Join the conversation

or to participate.