Embracing imperfection

the beauty of Wabi-Sabi

Thank you for reading this Friday's 6:08 am (ish) update, I always have you in mind as I type…

I’m pretty sure my mate Jackie used the words “Wabi-Sabi” in a few of our Random Dialogues, I thought it was a sauce used in sushi 😮

On Saturday, while sitting beside my worldly friend and neighbour Yvette at “Cecilia Vicuna's Brain Forest Quipu” installation at the Tate, I gained a better understanding of Wabi-Sabi. Yvette recently attended a seminar on the concept and shared her insights with me.

Wabi-Sabi is a Japanese philosophy or worldview that finds beauty in the imperfect, impermanent, and incomplete. It's about accepting and appreciating the natural cycle of growth, decay, and death and looking at the world that values authenticity and the uniqueness of every object or person.

It originated in the 15th century in Japan and has since influenced many aspects of Japanese culture, including art, design, architecture, and tea ceremony. It's not just a visual aesthetic, but a way of living that embraces the present moment and finds joy in the small things. The concept of Wabi-Sabi encourages us to let go of our obsession with perfection and to appreciate the beauty of imperfection in ourselves and the world around us.

In December 2020 during Random Dialogues Live #13, Cath Whittaker spoke about “Finding Joy in the Mundane”. Cath’s talk is 4 minutes in HERE.

It’s my intention to continue transcribing all the wonderful talks that you’ve shared at these live events and turn them into a little book. I’ll need some Wabi-Sabi power to do it, as this kind of focus and patience isn’t something my neuro-diverse brain copes with. THIS is what I’ve written so far.

If you made it this far🎬

Could THIS be you?

Until next Friday at 6:08 am (ish).


Jane Tyson
Random Dialogues
https://bookme.name/janetyson

By the way, as promised on Instagram I’m sharing the recipe for “sacred sumac onions” which comes courtesy of this fabulous vegan cafe in Exeter which I visited with my family on Thursday. Fill a jar with some sliced red onions, sumac, lime, white vinegar and a bit of sugar. (more next week once I’ve created some!).

Sumac Tree

Join the conversation

or to participate.