Everyone and Something

Random Dialogues 23.2.24, 6:08 am (ish)

My friend Laura recently opened up about her non-traditional career path (squiggly career), a story that strikes a chord with those of us who didn't take the conventional route after school. Like Laura, many of us at 16 aren't certain about our career aspirations and feel worn out by exams and the rigidity of the education system.

For me, leaving school at 16 meant stepping into the unknown. I opted for A Levels at Weybridge Technical College but found myself struggling with the academic content. The newfound freedom led me astray, spending too much time at the pub with friends, and going our raving, rather than focusing on my studies. Eventually, I dropped out, much to the approval of my father, who owned a shop in Putney, London, and didn't see the point of them either, and my mum who didn’t even know what they were. They’d both left school at 16 with zero CSEs. 

Instead, I pursued a secretarial course and at 18 found myself supporting the marketing department at Appletise - that cool refreshing drink -  before its acquisition by Coca-Cola and Schwepps. Despite having lots of fun with my mate Mandy in accounts (we’d ring each other up all day pretending to be important clients) the role presented its challenges – from confusing photocopying and filing to struggling to keep up with dictations. The allure of Victoria's doughnuts on the tea trolley often led to blood sugar spikes and crashes, resulting in unintended desk naps, plus the job was so boring, and the team was barely in. My favourite place was the large stock cupboard, where I’d test out the random unicycle, although Mandy was the pro. 

At 20, I headed off on a solo backpacking adventure to Australia and Southeast Asia, seeking new experiences and perspectives, waving goodbye to my tearful mum and Grandad.

In the meantime, my dad, still reeling from my mum's recent departure, couldn't bring himself to join us (and was too sad to see me go). Despite his absence, he wholeheartedly supported my decision, drawing on his own experiences as a "10 pound pom" in the 1960s, regaling my sister and me with tales of his two-year adventure - she lives out there now.

🖋️Random Diablogs from Random Dialoguists

⚡Everyone And Something | Seeing The Way with Ian Moncrieff MacMillan 👀

I love this little ditty that Ellen J. Langer (author of Mindfulness) sings to her grand-kids...

Everyone doesn't know something.
Everyone knows something else.

Everyone can't do something.
Everyone can do something else.

How to Grow Younger Series Part 16 by Yvette Masure | Health is Wealth 🌱

New moon 🌙 brought with it the Xodiac New Year of the Jade Dragon and the first day of Spring💚Second New Moon after Winter Solstice. 

These last 10 days indeed up until the 24th when the Full moon is in Virgo, concludes the festivities full run-up to the Festival of Lanterns.

🌝Then paper written wishes are placed in pieces of paper, origami, boats, candlelit, and placed into the river of Life by one and all 🙏 Tradition and Eastern culture. 

Symbolism. Hope and joy. Shared. 

Here I share a photo of a very good friend of mine, who petitions against the criminality so many suffer, through man’s political greed for power.  Her wishes and hopes are for the world and future generations.

Let us join in heart with her too this week 🙏

Arms around the world 🌍 🌏🌎

Breath. Live. Life.🍄💚🌱

#wabisabi🙏

⚡The Artist Living in the Shadows 🎨


🔚And Finally

Lucy invited me to this, so I’m going to go.

🎣And a Bit More Finally

I’ve signed up for a podcasting group to learn how to do it, to connect with other podcasters, and to share Random Dialogues more widely - what’s a topic, issue or subject that you feel passionate about and want to share? And incase you didn’t catch last month’s livestream ⬇️

As always, thank you❤️ CLICK TO REVIEW

Until next Friday at 6:08 am (ish).

Jane
Random Dialogues ❤️
Core Values: ⚡️Vision ⚡️Vitality ⚡️Voice

📅Events With Me

21 people booked into this week’s "FREE Canva For Beginners Level 1" on Zoom. Next month's is Monday, March 18th from 8.30 pm to 8.48 pm. Info on my booking page » https://bookme.name/janetyson

Join the conversation

or to participate.