"The Hour of Myself"

by Fernando Pessoa (1888 - 1935)

In the quiet of the night,
When stars like secrets shine,
I face the mirror's glass,
And seek what lies behind.

Within me dwells a multitude,
Voices, faces, a crowd,
Each claiming a piece of me,
Yet in their midst, I'm not allowed.

I strive to grasp my essence,
To touch the core that's true,
But like water slipping through fingers,
The "I" remains askew.

Oh, the hour of myself,
A puzzle never solved,
A journey without end,
In the depths of self involved.

I'll sail this sea of mirrors,
Navigate the maze of mind,
Till the hour of understanding,
When my true self, I'll find.

Random Dialogues in Portugal

I spotted him on top of a cabinet in a coffee shop in Portugal. Carefully, I placed him on the table - he was heavy!

Fernando Pessoa - renowned Portuguese writer, philosopher, and poet.

Meanwhile, middle age has crept up on Jason and he’s started listening to Coldplay. Thankfully his artwork is still cool and edgy.

✒️5 Sentences from You

a weekly space for readers to share 5 (ish) sentences

Downside Up Thinking by Moncrieff MacMillan | Seeing The Way 👀

A young Aussie boy was given a choice by a group of local kids between a large one-dollar coin and the smaller two-dollar coin.

To their amusement, he picked the bigger but less valuable coin.

When these kids were bored, they'd often pick on "stupid Johnny" and offer him the coin choice again...and he'd always take the bigger coin.

One day, an adult felt sorry for Johnny being teased by the other kids, so he tried to explain to Johnny why he should pick the smaller coin.

Johnny listened politely and replied..."Yes, I do know that. But how many times would they have offered me the coins if I had taken the two-dollar coin the first time?"

Unlike the other kids who'd used the simple logic of what 'is', Johnny had used his imagination to consider where his decision might flow 'to'.

[Story from Edward de Bono's 'Flowscapes' about how perception precedes logic]

🤗Good News Friday  

Thanks to Sarah “Swift” Davis for sending these:

Climate Leaders on What Brings Them Hope » READ

⚡The Knitwear Trend That Turns Torn Clothes Into Statement Pieces » CLICK 

⚡Who will win this year’s Earthshot Prize? » FIND OUT 

Events🎫

  • Thursday 24th August, 10am to noon, 🐝Guildford Buzz, at ZERO Guildford » ATTEND

  • Monday 4th September, 7 pm 🎨FREE Canva for Beginners on Zoom » LET’S CREATE

  • Thursday 28th September, 8 pm to 9 pm 📣Random Dialogues #25 online What’s the Topic, Issue, or Subject that you’re Passionate About and Want to Share? 6 speakers, 6 minutes each, 60 minutes. Confirmed speakers at mo - Clare Millington, Phil Shepherd, Adam Buttery, Matt Cadman, Sarah Winterflood » SPEAKER BRIEF for info, perhaps you’d like to give it a go? Respond to this update and let me know.

Until next Friday at 6:08 am (ish).

Thanks as always for your encouragement and for purchasing a copy of my book 🤗

🔚And Finally

Savouring soup with Adriana at the “Time Out” market in Lisbon and saying goodbye to her daughter and friend - whom I’ve been tutoring.

There are a few more pics from this week’s adventure visiting Adriana and her family HERE and “VLOGS” on my Instagram FEATURED section.

By the way, in case like me, you missed Yvette, she will be back soon from her “break” #wabisabi friend 🐼

VISION | VITALITY | VOICE

Join the conversation

or to participate.