• Random Dialogues
  • Posts
  • A portrait does not need to be a facsimile of the person to be a portrait

A portrait does not need to be a facsimile of the person to be a portrait

as long as you capture the essence of the sitter

…that to me is far more important than showing off how well you can draw/paint.

My new portraits are all about capturing something about the person that an exact copy of a photo can’t.

✒️5 Sentences from You

a weekly space for readers to share 5 (ish) sentences

High Interest Rates v Going Mobile by Moncrieff MacMillan | Seeing The Way 👀

I was going to write something about why interest rates may stay higher for longer (not just to cut inflation, but to slash the vast shadow banking ogre...which should release resources, so we can go back to producing useful things and not just playing financial games that few benefit from).

But that's all too heavy for today.

So I give you this (as I get our tin box on wheels ready for our summer adventure - to the wild west of Cornwall, and our favourite spot behind an abandoned dynamite factory)...

Going Mobile!

📋Random Diablogs

The Art of Life and Doing Without Doing: WU WEI by Yvette Masure | Health is Wealth 🌱

This is an interesting concept I think. It comes from ancient Chinese Medicine scripts going back to B.C. times.

It is said that through emotional cleansing and clearing, we enable more clarity and focus in our lives. To discover what we want to do and where we want to go on our life path. Without actually doing: but by ‘being’. Through breath work and sound frequency.

Apparently, it all begins with one deep breath… one conscious breath… and listening to sound frequency.

This enables talking, thinking, sharing, and exchange to now can go to a greater depth of emotional intelligence.

Recently it has been scientifically proven that the emotional centre in the brain is in the Amygdala, which also has a primary role in processing memory and decision making: and now coupled with emotional responses, we can conclude that washing through the body fluids, with sound healing: is now an Art and a Science.

Food for thought.

#wabisabi 🐼

The video below is from Yvette’s Youtube Channel and titled “Quality, Balance, Freedom‘

Enjoy⬇️

Supercharge Your Focus with Body Doubling by Jane

Six months.

Then 3.

Two.

Now one.

Not sure why.

The two local Boots chemists are overwhelmed and no longer automating my repeat prescription for the tablets which help boost my underactive thyroid.

I now have to do it myself, online every two weeks - the surgery requested that I don’t call.

Setting this up is the sort of thing that stresses me out.

Reluctantly, I sat down to take action, especially as I’ve left it a bit late and am to heading to Portugal on Saturday.

The surgery website directed me to NHS Direct.

I couldn’t remember if I had an account, so went through the process of finding out, testing out emails, and guessing passwords.

No.

So I registered.

I wasn’t sure of my NHS number and luckily there was an option to use an email address instead.

It sent me an email confirmation and a verification code on my phone, which was turned off in the other room.

I returned to the surgery website to find the tab to order my repeat prescription and email them about it.

Once collected I’ll pop them in my recycled carry-on travel bag, which I wrote about in last week’s update: “How To Grow Younger” but I felt a bit “old” working this all out and anxious writing about it now.

Clearly, I needed a “Body Double”.

via Colin Horner

Peta is a regular attendee of Guildford Buzz, which I host once a month. We met for a coffee, and I found about how she balances life as a mum of 3, alongside her digital work at the library, and her gentle marketing business. We also chatted about “Body Doubling”.

“In the context of ADHD (Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder), "body doubling" is a practical strategy or intervention aimed at helping individuals with ADHD improve focus, organisation, and productivity. It involves having a supportive person present to provide external structure, accountability, and assistance with tasks and activities that might be challenging for the individual with ADHD to tackle independently.”

via Chat GPT

Yep, that’s me.

🤗Good News Friday  

Tillingbourne.Earth wrote THIS wonderful update.

⚡How to make a blue heart sign for your wildflower verge or garden » VIEW

⚡Are you familiar with the TV series “Ghosts”? » STORY

Events🎫

  • Thursday 24th August, 10am to noon, 🐝Guildford Buzz, at ZERO Guildford » ATTEND

  • Monday 4th September, 7 pm 🎨FREE Canva for Beginners on Zoom » LET’S CREATE

  • Thursday 28th September, 8 pm to 9 pm 📣Random Dialogues #25 online What’s the Topic, Issue, or Subject that you’re Passionate About and Want to Share? 6 speakers, 6 minutes each, 60 minutes. Confirmed speakers at mo - Clare Millington, Phil Shepherd, Adam Buttery, Matt Cadman, Sarah Winterflood » SPEAKER BRIEF for info, perhaps you’d like to give it a go? Respond to this update and let me know.

Until next Friday at 6:08 am (ish).

What would you like to chat about? » CLICK 

Thanks as always for your encouragement and for purchasing a copy of my book.

VISION | VITALITY | VOICE

Join the conversation

or to participate.